(16 replies, posted in NEWBIES)

Hey all, I've been writing on and off for 5 years and still consider myself a newbie. I've been away from TNBW for about 6 months but thought it's about time I poked my head round the door.

(7 replies, posted in TheNextBigWriter Basic)

Justin Robben wrote:

Beautiful and uplifting words, all of you.
I commend your decision to stick with it, Dave, going so far as to rework your life around your passion. That is precisely the sort of dedication that pays off. I hope yours comes in, soon.
I will follow your advice, though I didn't necessarily need it. I do all this for, well... me. I enjoy it.
In the same way I won't stop listening to music running the gamut from Ayreon to Bowie, Blood Ceremony to Prince, because you don't like it, I won't stop writing what I like to.
Bravo us!!!

big_smile

Thanks Justin, I can see by your picture you're a strong willed character and not easily dissuaded by the odd bad review. And like you said, for me it's truly about the writing, the creation, it's an amazing feeling watching characters come alive in your work.

Cheers Dave

Mariana Reuter wrote:

All kind of artists--writer, painters, musicians, etc.--are potential targets of critique. Remember: beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Thus, your work may both appeal and repeal people. Not only on TNBW, but also once it's published. Just look at the Amazon reviews. There are always chaps who think your story sucks just because, as well as chaps who find it cool without any reason for.

Granting that all critiques in TNBW are candid, not all reviewers are professional enough. Some think that, by being blunt, they are doing the writer a favour, for then the writer will easily realise her flaws. Others are so polite and subtle one ends up wondering what was exactly what the reviewer meant. Within those boundaries, each writer must decide what is valuable and what is not.